FILTER, COMPOSITES & FOAMS

Application Examples of X-Ray Micro- and Nanotomography

X-Ray microtomography has become a valuable tool in the analysis of lightweight materials and filter media. The 3D image allows a direct insight into the spatial distribution of fibers and pore structures. By linking with methods of numerical simulation, the relationships between structure and physical parameters such as mechanical strength and permeability can be determined directly.

Example: Fiber-Reinforced Synthetics

In the following example, we investigated a fiberglass-reinforced synthetic material for a manufacturer of injection-molded plastic components. These material fibers have a diameter of 5-6 μm and can be visualized with high contrast using a high-resolution scan.

Example: Foams & Lightweight Materials

The following video shows the analysis of an open-pore carbide foam made of steel. On behalf of the customer, we measured the pore size distribution and the thickness of the metal framework. In addition, the customer has used the dataset in a numerical simulation to calculate the mechanical strength and elasticity.

Example: Filter Medium

Microtomography is a suitable tool for analysing multiphase filter media by mapping the spatial structure of individual functional layers. In the following example, we scanned a two-layer filter material with a high resolution of 1 μm / voxel.

en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

FILTER, KOMPOSITE & SCHÄUME

Anwendungsbeispiele der Röntgen-Mikro- und Nanotomographie

Die Röntgen-Mikrotomographie hat sich zu einem wertvollen Hilfsmittel bei der Analyse von Leichtbauwerkstoffen und Filtermedien entwickelt. Die Abbildung in 3D erlaubt einen direkten Einblick in die räumliche Verteilung von Fasern und Porenstrukturen. Durch die Verknüpfung mit Methoden der numerischen Simulation können die Zusammenhänge zwischen Struktur und physikalischen Parametern wie mechanischer Festigkeit und Permeabilität direkt ermittelt werden.

Beispiel: Faserverstärkte Kunststoffe

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir für einen Hersteller von Spritzguss-Plastikteilen einen glasfaserverstärkten Kunststoff untersucht. Die Fasern haben bei diesem Werkstoff einen Durchmesser von 5-6 µm, sie können mit einem hochaufgelösten Scan klar und kontrastreich dargestellt werden.

Beispiel: Schäume & Leichtbaumaterialien

Im folgenden Video ist die Analyse eines offenporigen Hartmetall-Schaums aus Stahl dargestellt. Im Auftrag des Kunden haben wir die Porengrößenverteilung und die Dicke des Metallgerüsts vermessen. Darüber hinaus hat der Kunde den Datensatz in einer numerischen Simulation verwendet, um die mechanische Festigkeit und Elastizität zu berechnen.

Beispiel: Filtermedium

Für die Analyse von mehrphasigen Filtermedien ist die Mikrotomographie ein geeignetes Werkzeug, um die räumliche Struktur der einzelnen Funktionsschichten abzubilden. Im nachfolgenden Beispiel haben wir ein zweilagiges Filtermaterial mit einer hohen Auflösung von 1 µm/voxel gescannt.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch