SEM-EDX PARTICLE ANALYSIS

Phenom ParticleX enables automated high-throughput analysis

Phenom ParticleX

Particle analysis in table format

The system offers complete integration of microscopic imaging (SEM) and elemental analysis (EDX) in one software and is therefore ideally suited for automatic particle analysis and fast manual SEM-EDX analysis.

Phenom ParticleX SEM EDX Particle Analyser

Specifications

  • Automation for particles & manual SEM-EDX analysis
  • XL sample chamber, 4 x 47 mm filters or 36 x 12 mm stubs
  • Motorized stage XY 100 mm x 100 mm
  • Long-lasting CeB6 filament, approx. 2000 hours
  • Variable high voltage 4.8-20.5 kV
  • Integrated SDD EDX detector, active area 25 mm²
  • High vacuum and variable low vacuum
  • BE detector for particle analysis, optional SE detector
  • Magnification up to 100,000x, additional 12x digital zoom
  • Integrated light microscope, magnification 3-16x

Perception Software

Designed for maximum throughput

Dynamic beam control

The search area is scanned point by point with the electron beam, and empty areas are scanned quickly. This saves up to 98% of the time required for imaging. Perception only switches to measurement mode when a particle is detected.

Microscopic image

In preparation for the granulometric analysis, the particle is examined under a high-resolution microscope. The excellent image quality of the ParticleX gives the user an optimal impression of the morphology of the particle.

Granulometric analysis

By segmenting the microscopic image with a threshold value, a geometric binary model of the particle is generated. This model is used to determine the relevant particle dimensions.

Classification of the material

While the image is being taken, the elements and their weight proportions are determined using X-ray element spectroscopy (EDX). The material is classified using a hierarchical database.

They don't care about anything

Reproducible results independent of the operator can only be achieved through automation. The Perception software uses automatic routines to ensure that the system is always optimally configured. The user does not have to worry about anything:

  • Auto video level and threshold
  • Auto focus and degauss
  • Auto EDX calibration
  • Auto Gun Alignment
  • Auto vacuum control

History of Perception

The development of automatic SEM-EDX particle analyzers dates back to 1995, when Richard J. Lee developed the first PSEM with Perception under MS-DOS for steel inclusion analysis. Since then, the software platform has been continuously developed and adapted to the requirements of new applications.

Phenom ParticleX – this is the perfect symbiosis of the well-known Perception software for particle analysis with the robust Phenom SEM-EDX tabletop devices from Thermo Fisher Scientific. The instrument counts and measures particles and classifies the material fully automatically. The compact devices are used in industrial testing laboratories, in research and in forensic laboratories for particle and inclusion analysis.

Highlight applications

Technical Cleanliness

Residual contamination analysis in automotive and medical technology involves determining the size and material of foreign particles in order to estimate the risk of failures and damage and to determine the origin of the contamination.

Gunshot residue analysis

In forensic science, the reliable detection of gunshot residue on the hands and clothing of suspects is necessary for the detection of firearms. The so-called Gun Shot Residue (GSR) consists of characteristic elements that can be detected using SEM-EDX particle analysis.

Steel Inclusion Analysis

To determine the quality of the steel, the number, size and chemical composition of the non-metallic inclusions (mostly oxides) are examined. A representation of the results in ternary diagrams provides a quick insight.

Additive Manufacturing

The quality of the powder is crucial for error-free 3D printing of components. Powder analysis examines the size, shape, agglomeration and oxidation of the metal particles. Investing in an SEM-EDX with particle automation is particularly worthwhile for larger production lines.

Powder for battery production

Battery performance is significantly influenced by the particle size, morphology and composition of the NCM powder. Equally relevant are metallic and hard foreign particles that can damage the battery cell separator.

Stages, Holders & Accessories

XL sample chamber as insert

Simply remove the sample chamber and load it easily – this is only possible with the Phenom ParticleX. The sample chamber of 100 mm x 100 mm x 65 mm can accommodate even large and bulky samples, usually without complex preparation.

Holder for 47 mm membranes

During the cleanliness analysis, the foreign particles are prepared for examination on 47 mm membranes. Four filter positions allow automatic operation with high throughput. This makes your ParticleX a real workhorse. There is an optional holder for nine 25 mm membranes.

Universal holder for stubs & samples

The standard stage is motorized in XY (100 mm x 100 mm). The height is adjusted by the user via a manual Z-axis (65 mm); motorization is optionally available. The holder offers space for several samples and complete components or up to 36 x 12 mm stubs in the hole grid.

Nebula Particle Dispenser

The Nebula particle dispenser provides a standard method for the uniform dispersion of dry powder on stubs. The process guarantees a homogeneous distribution on the surface, which facilitates SEM-EDX analysis.

Screen Video

Watch Perception at work

SEM-EDX PARTIKELANALYTIK

Phenom ParticleX ermöglicht automatische Analyse im Hochdurchsatz

Phenom ParticleX

Partikelanalyse im Tischformat

Das System bietet die vollständige Integration von mikroskopischer Abbildung (SEM) und Elementanalyse (EDX) in einer Software und eignet sich daher bestens für automatische Partikelanalyse und schnelle manuelle SEM-EDX Analytik.

Phenom ParticleX SEM EDX Particle Analyser

Spezifikationen

  • Automatik für Partikel & manuelle SEM-EDX Analytik
  • XL-Probenkammer, 4 x 47 mm Filter oder 36 x 12 mm Stubs
  • Motorisierte Bühne XY 100 mm x 100 mm
  • Langlebiges CeB6-Filament, ca. 2000 Stunden
  • Variable Hochspannung 4.8-20.5 kV
  • Integrierter SDD EDX-Detektor, aktive Fläche 25 mm²
  • Hochvakuum und variables Niedervakuum
  • BE-Detektor für Partikelanalyse, optional SE-Detektor
  • Vergrößerung bis 100.000-fach, zusätzlich 12x Digitalzoom
  • Integriertes Lichtmikroskop, Vergrößerung 3-16x

Perception Software

Für höchsten Durchsatz entwickelt

Dynamische Strahlkontrolle

Das Suchgebiet wird mit dem Elektronenstrahl punktweise abgerastert, leere Flächen werden schnell gescannt. Das spart bis zu 98% der Zeit für die Bildgebung. Erst wenn ein Partikel detektiert wird, schaltet Perception in den Messmodus um.

Mikroskopische Aufnahme

Zur Vorbereitung der granulometrischen Analyse wird das Partikel in hoher Auflösung mikroskopiert. Die hervorragende Bildqualität des ParticleX gibt dem Anwender einen optimalen Eindruck von der Morphologie des Partikels.

Granulometrische Analyse

Durch Segmentierung des mikroskopischen Bilds mit einem Schwellwert wird ein geometrisches Binärmodell des Partikels erzeugt. Anhand dieses Modells werden die relevanten Partikelabmessungen ermittelt.

Klassifizierung des Materials

Noch während der Bildaufnahme werden die Elemente und deren Gewichtsanteile durch Röntgen-Elementspektroskopie (EDX) bestimmt. Die Typisierung des Materials erfolgt mittels einer hierarchischen Datenbank.

Sie kümmern sich um nichts

Reproduzierbare Ergebnisse unabhängig vom Bediener sind nur durch Automatisierung zu erreichen. Die Perception Software sorgt durch automatische Routinen dafür, dass das System immer optimal eingestellt ist. Der Anwender muss sich um nichts kümmern:

  • Auto Videolevel und Schwellwert
  • Auto Fokus und Degauss
  • Auto EDX-Kalibrierung
  • Auto Gun Alignment
  • Auto Vakuumsteuerung

Geschichte von Perception

Die Entwicklung der automatischen SEM-EDX Partikelanalysatoren geht auf das Jahr 1995 zurück, als Richard J. Lee das erste PSEM mit Perception unter MS-DOS für die Stahleinschlussanalyse entwickelte. Seitdem wurde die Softwareplattform ständig weiterentwickelt und an die Anforderungen neuer Anwendungen angepasst.

Phenom ParticleX – das ist die perfekte Symbiose der bekannten Perception Software für Partikelanalyse mit den robusten Phenom SEM-EDX Tischgeräten von Thermo Fisher Scientific. Das Instrument zählt und vermisst Partikel und klassifiziert das Material vollautomatisch. Die kompakten Geräte werden in industriellen Prüflabors, in der Forschung und in kriminaltechnischen Labors für Partikel- und Einschlussanalytik und eingesetzt eingesetzt.

Highlight-Anwendungen

Technische Sauberkeit

Bei der Restschmutzanalyse in der Automobil- und Medizintechnik werden Größe und Material von Fremdpartikeln bestimmt, um das Risiko von Ausfällen und Schäden abzuschätzen und die Herkunft der Verunreinigung zu ermitteln.

Schmauchspuranalyse

In der Kriminaltechnik ist der sichere Nachweis von Schmauchspuren an Händen und Kleidung von Tatverdächtigen für den Schusswaffennachweis erforderlich. Der sogenannte Gun Shot Residue (GSR) besteht aus charakteristischen Elementen, die mit der SEM-EDX Partikelanalyse nachgewiesen werden können.

Stahleinschlussanalyse

Zur Bestimmung der Stahlqualität werden Anzahl, Größe und chemische Zusammensetzung der nichtmetallischen Einschlüsse (meist Oxide) untersucht. Eine Darstellung der Ergebnisse in Dreistoffdiagrammen gibt einen schnellen Einblick.

Additive Manufacturing

Für den fehlerfreien 3D-Druck von Bauteilen ist die Qualität des Pulvers entscheidend. Bei der Pulveranalyse werden Größe, Form, Agglomeration und Oxidation der Metallpartikel untersucht. Gerade bei größeren Produktionslinien lohnt sich die Investition in ein SEM-EDX mit Partikelautomation.

Pulver für Batterieherstellung

Die Batterieleistung wird wesentlich von Partikelgröße, Morphologie und Zusammensetzung des NCM-Pulvers beeinflusst. Ebenso relevant sind metallische und harte Fremdpartikel, die den Separator der Batteriezelle beschädigen können.

Bühnen, Halter & Zubehör

XL-Probenkammer als Einschub

Probenkammer einfach herausnehmen und bequem bestücken – das geht nur mit dem Phenom ParticleX. Der Probenraum von 100 mm x 100 mm x 65 mm nimmt auch große und sperrige Proben auf, meist ohne aufwändige Präparation.

Halter für 47 mm Membranen

Bei der Sauberkeitsanalyse werden die Fremdpartikel zur Untersuchung auf 47 mm Membranen präpariert. Vier Filterplätze erlauben eine Automatikbetrieb mit hohem Durchsatz. Damit wird Ihr ParticleX zu einem echten Arbeitspferd. Optional gibt es einen Halter für neun 25 mm Membranen.

Universalhalter für Stubs & Proben

Der Standardbühne ist in XY (100 mm x 100 mm) motorisiert. Die Höhe wird vom Benutzer über eine manuelle Z-Achse (65 mm) eingestellt, eine Motorisierung ist optional erhältlich. Der Halter bietet Platz für mehrere Proben und komplette Bauteile oder bis zu 36 x 12 mm Stubs im Lochraster.

Nebula Particle Dispenser

Mit dem Nebula Partikeldispenser steht eine Standardmethode für die gleichmäßige Dispersion von Trockenpulver auf Stubs zur Verfügung. Das Verfahren garantiert eine homogene Verteilung auf der Fläche, wodurch die SEM-EDX Analyse erleichtert wird.

Screen Video

Schauen Sie Perception bei der Arbeit zu