X-RAY ANALYSIS HIGH RESOLUTION MICRO & NANOTOMOGRAPHY NON-DESTRUCTIVE INSPECTION MICROTOMOGRAPHY SAMPLE INTERIOR 3D VISUALIZATION MICROTOMOGRAPHY PILLS ON THE INSIDE X-RAY MICRO- & NANO-CT FASCINATING INSIGHTS MICROTOMOGRAPHY

3D PARTICLE ANALYSIS

Application Examples of X-Ray Micro- and Nanotomography
PARTICLES, GRANULES & FILLINGS

2D particle analysis is only capable of determining the planar projection of particles. Microtomography, on the other hand, allows a precise analysis of the particle length, width and thickness. Furthermore, the spatial configuration of fillings produced during packaging and sedimentation processes can be studied.

Example: Residual Contaminant Particles

In the following example, we examined the particles on a filter membrane as part of a technical cleanliness test.

The following videos show individual particles, which were scanned at a high resolution of 1 μm / voxel.

Example: Food Granules & Seeds

In addition to the final products, in particular granules and seeds are investigated in the food industry. The aim of such investigations is the optimization of manufacturing processes, e. g. grinding, drying, roasting or extruding.

In the following example, we scanned a batch of roasted coffee beans and analyzed the beans' internal porosity, which acts as a measure of the roasting quality.

Example: Pigments & Fillings

The following video shows the 3D analysis of a paint layer with glossy pigments that are only 1-2 μm thick. The scan was performed with nanofocus and a resolution of 0.25 μm / voxel. The analytical aim was to calculate the angular distribution of the pigment surfaces with respect to the overall sample surface.

en_USEN

3D-PARTIKELANALYSE

Anwendungsbeispiele der Röntgen-Mikro- und Nanotomographie
PARTIKEL, GRANULATE & SCHÜTTUNGEN

Während bei der 2D-Partikelanalyse lediglich die Projektion der Partikel in der Ebene bestimmt wird, ermöglicht die Mikrotomographie eine präzise Analyse der Länge, Breite und Dicke der Teilchen. Darüber hinaus kann die räumliche Konfiguration von Schüttungen bei Verpackungs- und Sedimentationsprozessen studiert werden.

Beispiel: Restschmutzpartikel

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir die Restschmutzpartikel in einer Filtermembrane im Rahmen der Prüfung der Technischen Sauberkeit untersucht.

Die folgenden Videos zeigen einzelne Restschmutzpartikel, die in hoher Auflösung von 1 µm/voxel gescannt wurden.

Beispiel: Lebensmittelgranulate & Samen

In der Lebensmittelindustrie werden neben Endprodukten insbesondere Granulate und Samen untersucht. Das Ziel solcher Untersuchungen ist die Optimierung der Fertigung z.B. beim Mahlen, Trocknen, Rösten oder Extrudieren.

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir eine Schüttung gerösteter Kaffeebohnen gescannt und die innere Porosität der Bohnen analysiert, die ein Maß für die Qualität der Röstung ist.

Beispiel: Pigmente & Füllstoffe

Das folgende Video zeigt die 3D-Analyse einer Lackschicht mit Glanzeffekt-Pigmenten, die nur 1-2 µm dick sind. Der Scan wurde daher mit Nanofokus und einer Auflösung von 0.25 µm/voxel durchgeführt. Das Ziel der Analyse war die Berechnung der Winkelverteilung der Pigmentflächen relativ zur Oberfläche.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch