TABLETS & MEDICAL DEVICES

Application Examples of X-Ray Micro- and Nanotomography
SOLID FORMULATIONS

Solid dosage forms can be scanned by X-Ray microtomography without cutting the specimen. The reconstruction in 3D enables the quantitative analysis of the functional layers as well as the spatial distribution and size of the active substances and excipients.

Example: Tablets & Dragees

In the following example, we visualized and quantitatively analyzed the drug distribution (green) and thickness of the coating (red) on a tablet.

Example: Pellets & Granules

The quality of individual layers is crucial for the release of active ingredients from pellets and granules. Utilizing micro-CT, we can easily identify defects in the functional layers and determine the percentage of defective pellets.

In the following example, we examined the functional layers of pellets (orange and white), counted the defects and determined the porosity of the cores (blue).

MEDICAL APPLICATORS

For applicators and packaging, microtomography has proven to be a valuable method of analysis when it comes to return and retention samples. The internal structure of a erroneous component can be displayed non-destructively, allowing a fast investigation of the failure mechanism.

Example: Sealing Gasket of a Dropper Bottle

In the following example, we examined the sealing gasket of a dropper bottle with a conspicuous retention sample.

en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

TABLETTEN & MEDIZINPRODUKTE

Anwendungsbeispiele der Röntgen-Mikro- und Nanotomographie
FESTE FORMULIERUNGEN

Feste Darreichungsformen lassen sich mittels Röntgen-Mikrotomographie scannen, ohne das Präparat zu schneiden. Die Rekonstruktion in 3D ermöglicht die quantitative Analyse der funktionellen Schichten sowie die räumliche Verteilung und Größe der Wirk- und Hilfsstoffe.

Beispiel: Tabletten & Dragees

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir bei einer Tablette die Wirkstoffverteilung (grün) und die Dicke des Überzugs (rot) visualisiert und quantitativ analysiert.

Beispiel: Pellets & Granulate

Für die Freisetzung bei Pellets und Granulaten ist die Qualität der einzelnen Schichten entscheidend. Mit dem Mikro-CT können wir Defekte in den Funktionsschichten leicht erkennen und den Prozentsatz defekter Pellets bestimmen.

Im folgenden Beispiel haben die Funktionsschichten von Pellets (orange und weiß) untersucht, die Defekte gezählt und die Porosität der Kerne (blau) bestimmt.

MEDIZINISCHE APPLIKATOREN

Bei Applikatoren und Verpackungen hat sich die Mikrotomographie bei der Analyse von Rückläufern und Rückstellmustern bewährt. Der innere Aufbau eines fehlerhaften Teils lässt sich zerstörungsfrei darstellen, wodurch der Versagensmechanismus schnell aufgeklärt wird.

Beispiel: Dichtung einer Tropfer-Flasche

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir die Dichtung einer Tropfer-Flasche untersucht, dessen Rückstellmuster auffällig war.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch