IDENTIFICATION OF PARTICLES

Fully Automated SEM-EDX Analysis of Residual Contaminants According to Material and Hardness
SEM-EDX Fully Automatic
Operating Principle

This method automatically analyzes particle size and composition in a single step. Even the smallest particles (<1 μm) can be measured with a high precision due to the fine rastering with the electron beam. Knowledge about a particle's composition subsequently enables a reliable determination of its origin, which can then be targeted and eliminated.

aspex-sem-edx-automatische-particle-analysis

The video above shows a particle analysis in action, as run on the Aspex Explorer. The microscopic image of the membrane is displayed to the left, and further subdivided into square fields. Particles detected in the yellow field are displayed in green to the right.

For each particle detected, an EDX spectrum is recorded and displayed at the bottom of the screen. The spectrum contains the particle's composition, which is compared with our database in order to derive its material class. Due to the high count rate of the detector, measurement time per particle is as short as 0.2 seconds. This guarantees fast analyses of large particle ensembles.

Particle Analysis by Material and Hardness Classes

Aside from constraining the origin of residual contaminant particles, the determination of the particle hardness is the most important application of the SEM-EDX method. The harder the particle, the greater the damage potential. Even though the determination of particle hardness by SEM-EDX only works indirectly, a hardness class can be accessed by precisely assigning particles into different material classes.

Organic Particles

Organic particles and filmic contaminants are ideal samples for Molecular Spectroscopy .

Furthermore, SEM-EDX has proven to be effective in analyzing organic contaminants, due to the its ability to inspect large particle numbers in an automated manner. The particles are prepared onto a metal membrane in order to increase the contrast. Organic material groups can be identified accurately by analyzing the particles in a ternary diagram.

The following example shows the analysis of an organic contaminant. PU and PA plastics are the dominate particle assemblages, as can be demonstrated using the ternary C-O-N (carbon, oxygen, nitrogen) diagram.

SEM-EDX-organics-tenery
en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

IDENTIFIZIERUNG VON PARTIKELN

Vollautomatische SEM-EDX-Analyse von Restschmutzpartikeln nach Material & Härte
SEM-EDX vollautomatisch
Funktionsprinzip

Bei dieser Methode werden Größe und Material der Partikel in einem einzigen Schritt automatisch analysiert. Durch die feine Abtastung mit dem Elektronenstrahl können auch kleinste Teilchen unter 1 µm mit hoher Präzision gemessen werden. Die Kenntnis von den Partikel-Werkstoffen erlaubt eine sichere Bestimmung der Herkunft. Dadurch können Schmutzquellen aus dem Prozess gezielt eliminert werden.

aspex-sem-edx-automatische-particle-analysis

Das Bildschirmvideo zeigt eine laufende Partikelanalyse mit dem Aspex Explorer. Links ist die mikroskopische Abbildung der Membrane zu sehen, die in quadratische Felder unterteilt ist. Die im gelb markierten Feld detektierten Partikel werden auf der rechten Seite grün eingezeichnet.

Für jedes detektierte Teilchen wird ein EDX-Spektrum aufgezeichnet und im unteren Bereich des Bildschirms dargestellt. Das Spektrum beinhaltet die Zusammensetzung des Partikels, aus der die Materialklasse mittels unserer Datenbank abgeleitet wird. Aufgrund der hohen Zählrate des Detektors beträgt die Messdauer pro Teilchen ab 0,2 Sekunden. Damit sind schnelle Analysen großer Partikelensembles garantiert.

Partikelanalyse nach Material- & Härteklassen

Die Bestimmung der Partikelhärte ist die wichtigste Anwendung der SEM-EDX-Methode neben der Herkunftsanalyse von Restschmutzpartikeln. Je härter das Partikel, desto größer dessen Schädigungspotential. Die Messung der Partikelhärte funktioniert durch SEM-EDX auf indirektem Weg. Die präzise Einordnung des Partikels in eine Materialklasse erlaubt den Rückschluss auf die Härteklasse.

Organische Partikel

Die Molekülspektroskopie ist prädestiniert für die Identifizierung organischer Partikel und filmischer Verunreinigungen.

Aufgrund der Fähigkeit, viele Partikel automatisch zu untersuchen, hat sich darüber hinaus die SEM-EDX-Methode bei der Analyse organischer Verschmutzungen bewährt. Um den Kontrast zu heben, werden die Partikel auf eine Metallmembrane präpariert. Durch die Analyse der Partikel im Dreistoffdiagramm der Elemente können organische Werkstoffgruppen zielsicher erkannt werden.

Das nachfolgende Beispiel zeigt die Analyse einer organischen Verschmutzung. Durch die Auswertung im Dreistoffdiagramm (Kohlenstoff, Sauerstoff, Stickstoff) konnte gezeigt werden, dass im Partikelensemble die Kunststoffe PU und PA dominieren.

SEM-EDX-organics-tenery
de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch