ORGANIC SUBSTANCES

Identification of Molecules by Infrared & Raman Spectroscopy
Molecular Spectroscopy
Operating Principle

Infrared and Raman spectroscopy are methods of molecular spectroscopy. In both cases, the interaction of incident light with the sample molecules provides information regarding the type of molecules as well as their quantity.

During infrared spectroscopy (IR), the sample is irradiated with long wavelength light and the spectral absorption of the transmitted light examined. During Raman spectroscopy, a sample is irradiated with laser light and the wavenumber shift of the reflected light spectrally examined. In both cases, spectral peaks are indicative of a molecule type.

Molecular-spectroscopy

In our test lab, we utilize both methods of molecular spectroscopy, combined with light microscopy, Thus. we can carry out micro-scale spectroscopic analyses, e.g. on particles.

Organic Fibres & Particles

Microscopic molecular spectroscopy has proven to be very useful in the identification of unknown organic fibers and particles for the purpose of determining their origin. For this purpose, the measured spectra are compared with a reference database, and the most likely matches extracted by the software.

In the following example, we have identified an unknown dark fiber and a black particle on behalf of a customer. It has been demonstrated that the fibre is made of cotton and therefore originates from a textile. The particle, on the other hand, is made of polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), a common high-performance plastic.

FT-IR-spectroscopy-particles-fibres
Filmic Impurities

Practical example: After final cleaning, a customer repeatedly identified a filmic contamination on his components, which impeded the subsequent coating process. A spectroscopic comparison between the utilized processing auxiliaries and the unknown substance showed that the filmic contamination was a mixture of two components. The problem was solved by changing the detergent.

Raman-spectroscopy-filmic-contamination
Chemical Imaging

Direct chemical imaging is enabled by molecular spectroscopy. At each pixel, a spectrum is collected and the peaks color-coded respectively. The following example shows a cross section through a kitchen foil, which is composed of three different polymers.

Raman-spectroscopy-multi-foil-analysis

For pharmaceutical applications, imaging Raman spectroscopy enables a spatial analysis of the active and auxiliary substances in newly developed solid formulation. In the following example, we examined the compositional distribution in a cross-sectioned flecainide tablet.

Raman-spectroscopy-tablet-imaging
en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

ORGANISCHE SUBSTANZEN

Identifizierung von Molekülen durch Infrarot- & Raman-Spektroskopie
Molekülspektroskopie
Funktionsprinzip

Infrarot- und Raman-Spektroskopie sind Methoden der Molekülspektroskopie. Dabei wird die Wechselwirkung von einfallendem Licht mit den Molekülen in der Probe analysiert, um Informationen über die Molekül-Art und Menge zu gewinnen.

Bei der Infrarot-Spektroskopie (IR) wird die Probe mit langwelligem Licht bestrahlt und die spektrale Absorption des transmittierten Lichts untersucht. Bei der Raman-Spektroskopie wird die Probe mit Laserlicht bestrahlt und die Wellenzahl-Verschiebung des reflektierten Lichts spektral untersucht. In beiden Fällen sind die spektralen Peaks charakteristisch für die Art des Moleküls.

Molecular-spectroscopy

In unserem Labor betreiben wir beide Methoden der Molekülspektroskopie kombiniert mit Lichtmikroskopie und können dadurch im Mikrobereich z.B. auf Partikeln spektroskopische Analysen durchführen.

Organische Fasern & Schmutzpartikel

Die mikroskopische Molekülspektroskopie hat sich bei der Identifzierung unbekannter organischer Fasern und Partikel zum Zweck der Herkunftsbestimmung bestens bewährt. Dazu werden die gemessenen Spektren mit einer Referenz-Datenbank abgeglichen, die Software liefert die wahrscheinlichsten Treffer.

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir im Auftrag eines Kunden eine unbekannte dunkle Faser und ein schwarzes Partikel identifiziert. Es hat sich gezeigt, dass die Faser aus Baumwolle besteht und folglich von einem Textil stammt. Das Partikel besteht aus Polyphenylensulfid (PPS), ein gängiger Hochleistungskunststoff.

FT-IR-spectroscopy-particles-fibres
Filmische Verunreinigungen

Praxisbeispiel: Nach der Endreinigung hat der Kunde immer wieder eine filmische Verunreinigung auf den Teilen gefunden, die den nachgelagerten Beschichtungsprozess behindert hat. Ein spektroskopischer Vergleich der beteiligten Prozess-Hilfsstoffe mit der unbekannten Substanz hat gezeigt, dass der Schmutzfilm aus zwei Komponenten zusammengesetzt ist. Durch den Wechsel des Waschmittels war das Problem gelöst.

Raman-spectroscopy-filmic-contamination
Chemische Bildgebung

Die Molekülspektroskopie ermöglicht eine direkte chemische Bildgebung. Dazu wird in jedem Bildpunkt ein Spektrum gemessen und die Peaks farbkodiert im Bild dargestellt. Das folgende Beispiel zeigt einen Querschnitt durch eine Küchenfolie, die aus drei Polymeren aufgebaut ist.

Raman-spectroscopy-multi-foil-analysis

Bei der Entwicklung fester Formulierungen in der Pharmazie ermöglicht die bildgebende Raman-Spektroskopie eine räumliche Verteilungsanalyse der Wirk- und Hilfsststoffe. Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir die Verteilung der Komponenten bei einer Flecainid-Tablette im Querschliff untersucht.

Raman-spectroscopy-tablet-imaging
de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch