BIOLOGY, ARCHEOLOGY & PRECLINICS

Application Examples of X-Ray Micro- and Nanotomography
BIOLOGICAL PREPARATIONS

In zoology and botany, microtomography has proven itself in recent years as a method for the morphological characterization of animal and plant samples. The advantage over histology is obvious: rare specimens can be examined non-destructively in microscopic resolution and are thus retained for later studies.

Example: Insects & Microorganisms

In the following example, we examined the head of a mayfly nymph (genus Coloburiscus) and visualized its masticatory muscles with an internal cross-section. We chose a high resolution of 1 μm / voxel in order to visualize the fine structures. Specimen provided by a German natural history museum.

ARCHAEOLOGICAL ARTEFACTS

Archeologists have long been relying on micro-CT scanners due to the benefits of a non-destructive analysis. Scientists scan tools, potsherds, funerary goods or teeth, and can also detect bone deformities, injuries and illnesses. Wood species can be assigned to charcoaled timber, and carbonized scrolls can be virtually unrolled using micro-CT.

Example: Human Remains

The following video shows the scanned skull of a full-grown male individual from Thuringia, dated to the Late Middle Ages, ca. 13th century. Sample provided by the University of Jena.

PRECLINICAL RESEARCH

Preclinical research, especially in studies of laboratory mouse osteoporosis, was the first research field utilizing microtomography. In addition to the examination of bone diseases and their healing, studies on the vascular system, the lungs, the heart and other organs have nowadays become routine analyses, all benefiting from the high spatial resolution of microtomography.

Example: Femur of a Mouse (in-vivo)

In the following example, we scanned the femur of a mouse in-vivo and analyzed the trabecular portion of the bone.

Example: Vascular System of a Mouse (in-vivo)

In the following example, we stained the vascular system of a mouse with contrast media and scanned it in-vivo.

Example: Titanium Implant in Pig Rib

In the following example, we scanned a titanium implant that was placed in a pork rib ex-vivo. The interface between implant and bone is shown without artifacts, which makes it very easy to assess osseointegration.

en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

BIOLOGIE, ARCHÄOLOGIE & PRÄKLINIK

Anwendungsbeispiele der Röntgen-Mikro- und Nanotomographie
BIOLOGISCHE PRÄPARATE

In der Zoologie und Botanik hat sich in den letzten Jahren die Mikrotomographie als Methode für die morphologische Charakterisierung von tierischen und pflanzlichen Proben bewährt. Der Vorteil gegenüber der Histologie liegt klar auf der Hand: seltene Exemplare können zerstörungsfrei in mikroskopischer Auflösung untersucht werden und bleiben so für spätere Studien erhalten.

Beispiel: Insekten & Kleinlebewesen

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir den Kopf einer Eintagsfliegen-Nymphe der Gattung Coloburiscus, den uns Mitarbeiter eines deutschen Naturkundemuseums übermittelt haben, untersucht und den Innenschnitt der Kaumuskulatur visualisiert. Um die feinen Strukturen darzustellen, haben wir eine hohe Auflösung von 1 µm/voxel für den Scan gewählt.

ARCHÄOLOGISCHE ARTEFAKTE

Aufgrund der zerstörungsfreien Analyse sind Mikro-CT-Scanner früh in der Archäologie angekommen. Forscher scannen Werkzeuge, Tonscherben, Grabbeigaben oder Zähne. An Knochenfunden können Deformationen, Verletzungen und Krankheiten erkannt werden. Bei verkohlten Hölzern kann die Holzart bestimmt werden, karbonisierte Schriftrollen können mittels Mikro-CT virtuell entrollt werden.

Beispiel: Menschliche Überreste

Das folgende Video zeigt den Scan des Schädels eines ausgewachsenen männlichen Individuums aus Thüringen, datiert in das spätere Mittelalter, ca. 13. Jahrhundert. Die Probe wurde uns von Mitarbeitern der Universität Jena zur Verfügung gestellt.

PRÄKLINISCHE FORSCHUNG

Das erste Forschungsgebiet, in dem die Mikrotomographie angewendet wurde, war die präklinische Forschung, insbesondere bei Studien der Osteoporose an Labormäusen. Neben der Analyse von Knochenkrankheiten und deren Heilung haben sich heute Untersuchungen am Gefäßsystem, an der Lunge, am Herzen und anderen Organen etabliert, die von der hohen Ortsauflösung der Mikrotomographie profitieren.

Beispiel: Femur der Maus (in-vivo)

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir den Femur einer Maus in-vivo gescannt und den trabekularen Anteil des Knochens analysiert.

Beispiel: Gefäßsystem der Maus (in-vivo)

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir das Gefäßsystem einer Maus mit Kontrastmittel angefärbt und in-vivo gescannt.

Beispiel: Titan-Implantat in Schweinerippe

Im folgenden Beispiel haben wir ein Titan-Implantat, das in eine Schweinerippe appliziert wurde, ex-vivo gescannt. Die Grenzfläche zwischen Implantat und Knochen ist artefaktfrei abgebildet, die Osseointegration kann dadurch sehr gut beurteilt werden.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch