CLEANLINESS ANALYSIS - OVERVIEW

Screening for Technical Cleanliness According to VDA-19.1 & ISO-16232
Step 1
Extraction of Surface Contamination

Initially, residual particles are extracted from the component surface by rinsing, spraying or ultrasound, and transferred to a liquid medium (fluid). The solid particles are prepared onto a membrane by vacuum filtration, enabling further analysis,

Step 2
Gravimetry of Residual Oil Mass

Selective evaporation separates the liquid flushing medium from oils, lubricants and other processing additives, which are subsequently weighed separately. The residue weight characterizes the degree by which component surfaces are contaminated with oil and fats.

Step 3
Gravimetry of Particle Mass

The easiest way to quantitatively evaluate contamination by residual particles is to weigh the membrane before and after preparation. The difference between the two measurement results is the particle mass. For simple cleanliness requirements, this value is often sufficient.

Step 4
Measurement of Particle Number and Size

Particle number and size are determined by analyzing the membrane with a scanner or light microscope. Due to their high working speed, scanners are not only suitable for standard analysis according to VDA-19.1 & ISO-16232, but also for process control of component cleanliness.

Step 5
Granulometry with Material Typification

Technical sublime is the analysis by means of automated scanning electron microscopy and elemental analysis (SEM-EDX). In addition to number and size, this method also provides an individual typification of materials, hence allowing the particles' origin to be precisely constrained.

Step 6
3D Particle Measurement

In the realm of cleanliness analysis, the current trend is shifting towards spatial measurements of particles. Thickness and volume of individual particles are important parameters, and can be constrained from X-Ray microtomography.

en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

RESTSCHMUTZANALYSE IM ÜBERBLICK

Prüfung der Technischen Sauberkeit nach VDA-19.1 & ISO-16232
Schritt 1
Extraktion des Restschmutzes

Zu Beginn der Prüfung wird der Restschmutz durch Spülen, Spritzen oder Ultraschall von der Bauteiloberfläche extrahiert und in ein flüssiges Medium (Fluid) überführt. Zur Analyse werden die festen Partikel durch Vakuumfiltration auf eine Membrane präpariert.

Schritt 2
Gravimetrie des Restölgehalts

Durch selektive Verdampfung wird das flüssige Spülmedium von Ölen, Schmiermitteln und anderen Prozesshilfsstoffen abgetrennt, welche anschließend separat ausgewogen werden. Das ermittelte Rückstandsgewicht charakterisiert die Qualität fettfreier Bauteiloberflächen.

Schritt 3
Gravimetrie der Partikelmenge

Die einfachste Möglichkeit, die Schmutzpartikel quantitativ zu bewerten, besteht im Wiegen der Membrane vor und nach der Präparation. Die Differenz der beiden Messergebnisse ist die Partikelmasse. Für einfache Sauberkeitsanforderungen reicht diese Aussage oftmals aus.

Schritt 4
Messung von Partikelzahl und Größe

Durch Analyse der Membrane mittels Scanner oder Lichtmikroskop werden Anzahl und Größe der Partikel bestimmt. Aufgrund der Schnelligkeit eignen sich Scanner nicht nur zur Standardanalyse nach VDA-19.1 & ISO-16232, sondern auch zur Prozesskontrolle der Bauteilsauberkeit.

Schritt 5
Granulometrie mit Materialtypisierung

Das Non-Plus-Ultra ist die Analyse mittels automatischer Raster-Elektronenmikroskopie und Elementanalyse (SEM-EDX). Die Methode liefert neben der Anzahl und Größe auch eine individuelle Typisierung der Materialien und erlaubt dadurch die präzise Herkunftsanalyse der Partikel.

Schritt 6
3D-Partikelvermessung

Bei der Sauberkeitsprüfung geht der Trend zur räumlichen Vermessung der Partikel. Dicke und Volumen der individuellen Partikel sind wichtige Größen, die durch Röntgen-Mikrotomographie bestimmt werden.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch