SEM-EDX GUIDE FOR BUYERS

Chapter 1 - Price range of the SEM-EDX tabletop and compact devices
FOREWORD

The gap between light microscopes and traditionally expensive and large Scanning Electron Microscopes (abbreviated "SEM") has long been closed by a new generation of SEM devices. Latest systems are smaller, faster, more economical and also available in table format. The user-friendly operation allows the use outside of specialized research laboratories.

The key to a successful in-house implementation is the choice of an instrument that best fits your needs. Our guide assists the buyer in choosing with practical advice and technical information.

Tabletop, compact device or large device

Desktop devices (English "Tabletop" or "Benchtop SEM") are space-saving and can be easily integrated into existing premises. Compact floor units require a separate floor space, providing a larger sample space and more options for future expansion. The price difference between tabletop SEM and compact devices is often insignificant. If there are no space restrictions, a tabletop device does not necessarily have to be the first choice.

Tabletop SEM & compact stand unit

At the upper end of the performance class are the major research equipment, often equipped with a field emission source, ion beam and special spectroscopic detectors. In order to be able to use such devices adequately, a full-time operator with appropriate qualifications is needed.

Prices, follow-up costs and expandability

The following table gives an overview of the investment costs:

modeldomestic equipmentsstageLikeEUR-Price
Basic Tabletop SEMSE or BEXY50 kx50 thousand
Full Tabletop SEM-EDXSE, BE, Low Vac, EDXXYT100 kx100 thousand
Basic Compact SEMSE, BE, low vacXYZRT250 kx80 thousand
Full Compact SEM-EDXSE, BE, Low Vac, EDXXYZRT250 kx130 thousand

The follow-up costs are often underestimated, especially in the SEM entry-level market. Margins are tight due to fierce competition, which is why manufacturers of well-known brands seek their profit in service and support. Robust devices that do not require a service contract offer a long-term potential for considerable savings. Similarly, the user should inform himself whether a simple maintenance (eg filament change) can be carried out independently, or whether a fee-based service is necessary.

If you consider a later extension of the analytical possibilities, you should consider this already with the acquisition. Many SEM compact devices and some tabletop SEM have free ports that allow the user to install additional modules later.

en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

SEM-EDX LEITFADEN FÜR KÄUFER

Kapitel 1 - Preisklasse der SEM-EDX-Tabletop und Kompaktgeräte
VORWORT

Die Lücke zwischen Lichtmikroskopen und traditionell teuren und großen Raster-Elektronenmikroskopen (abgekürzt "SEM" von Englisch "Scanning Electron Microscope") ist längst durch eine neue Generation von SEM-Geräten geschlossen worden. Neueste Systeme sind kleiner, schneller, wirtschaftlicher und darüber hinaus im Tischformat erhältlich. Die benutzerfreundliche Bedienung ermöglicht den Einsatz außerhalb von spezialisierten Forschungslabors.

Der Schlüssel für eine erfolgreiche Implementierung im eigenen Labor ist die Wahl eines Instruments, das optimal an den Bedarf angepasst ist. Unser Leitfaden unterstützt den Käufer bei der Auswahl mit praktischen Ratschlägen und technischen Informationen.

Tabletop, Kompaktgerät oder Großgerät

Tischgeräte (Englisch "Tabletop" oder "Benchtop SEM") sind platzsparend und können leicht in bestehende Räumlichkeiten eingebunden werden. Kompakte Standgeräte benötigen ein separates Bodenareal, bieten dafür einen größeren Probenraum und mehr Möglichkeiten für künftige Erweiterungen. Die Preisdifferenz zwischen Tabletop-SEM und Kompaktgeräten ist oft nur unwesentlich. Wenn es keine räumlichen Einschränkungen gibt, muss ein Tischgerät nicht automatisch die erste Wahl sein.

Tabletop-SEM & kompaktes Standgerät

Am oberen Ende der Leistungsklasse finden sich die Forschungsgroßgeräte, oft mit Feldemissionsquelle, Ionenstrahl und speziellen spektroskopischen Detektoren ausgestattet. Um solche Geräte adäquat nutzen zu können, wird ein Operator in Vollzeit mit entsprechender Qualifikation benötigt.

Preise, Folgekosten und Erweiterbarkeit

Nachfolgende Tabelle gibt einen Überblick der Investitionskosten:

ModellAusstattungBühneMagEUR-Preis
Basic Tabletop SEMSE oder BEXY50 kx50 Tsd
Full Tabletop SEM-EDXSE, BE, Low Vac, EDXXYT100 kx100 Tsd
Basic Compact SEMSE, BE, Low VacXYZRT250 kx80 Tsd
Full Compact SEM-EDXSE, BE, Low Vac, EDXXYZRT250 kx130 Tsd

Die Folgekosten sind ein oft unterschätzter Faktor, insbesondere im Markt der SEM-Einstiegsmodelle. Aufgrund des starken Wettbewerbs sind die Margen knapp, weshalb Hersteller bekannter Marken ihren Gewinn in Service und Support suchen. Robuste Geräte, die ohne Servicevertrag auskommen, bieten langfristig ein erhebliches Einsparpotential. Ebenso sollte sich der Anwender informieren, ob eine einfache Instandhaltung (z.B. Filamentwechsel) selbstständig durchgeführt werden kann, oder ob ein kostenpflichtiger Serviceeinsatz notwendig ist.

Falls Sie eine spätere Erweiterung der analytischen Möglichkeiten in Betracht ziehen, sollten Sie das bereits bei der Anschaffung berücksichtigen. Viele SEM-Kompaktgeräte und auch einige Tabletop-SEM verfügen über freie Anschlüsse, die es dem Anwender ermöglichen, zusätzliche Module nachträglich zu installieren.

de_DEDE
en_USEN de_DEDE