SEM-EDX GUIDE FOR BUYERS

Chapter 3 - Imaging and Spectroscopy Detectors
Standard types of detectors

During operation of the SEM, the electron beam is scanned point by point over the sample. The backscattered electrons are counted in the imaging detectors. At the same time, the electron beam excites the sample to emit characteristic X-rays. By analyzing the X-ray spectrum, the elements in the sample can be determined. Three detector systems are considered standard for SEM devices:

  • Backscattered electrons (BE) → material contrast
  • Secondary electrons (SE) → topography contrast
  • Energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) → elemental analysis

The following diagram shows the generation of the primary electron beam, its interaction with the sample and the arrangement of the detector systems:

SEM-EDX-principle
Backscatter and secondary electrons (BE / SE)

For imaging, backscatter and secondary electron detectors have prevailed. The backscattered electrons (BE) show the element or material contrast of the sample. The heavier an element is, the brighter the area in the BE image appears. The secondary electrons (SE) originate from the surface and reflect the topography of the sample.

Note that the SEM device of your choice can integrate both BE and SE detector systems. The information content is complementary and in the practical work the consideration of both modalities is essential.

X-ray element analysis (EDX)

Elemental analysis using X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) is optionally available on all SEM devices. Some manufacturers offer their own hardware and software, while others integrate EDX systems from specialized third-party suppliers. Their software is much further developed, offers maximum functionality including quantitative analysis and can be retrospectively expanded. If required, additional software modules (eg for automatic particle analysis) can be activated.

Here's to check if the simplified features of SEM manufacturers offering their own EDX solutions will not affect your future expansion possibilities.

Transmission electrons (STEM)

Recently, Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (STEM) is no longer reserved for large research equipment only. Some tabletop SEMs and compact devices with STEM detectors offer the possibility to image thin sections on standardized TEM grids. In particular, for organic preparations and tissue sections, this novel option is interesting because an energy of 30 kV is already sufficient to irradiate such thin sections.

Created with GIMP

STEM image of a kidney tissue thin section

en_USEN
de_DEDE en_USEN

SEM-EDX LEITFADEN FÜR KÄUFER

Kapitel 3 - Detektoren für Bildgebung und Spektroskopie
Standard-Detektortypen

Im Betrieb des SEM wird der Elektronenstrahl punktweise über die Probe gerastert. Die zurückgestreuten Elektronen werden in den bildgebenden Detektoren gezählt. Gleichzeitig regt der Elektronenstrahl die Probe zur Emission von charakteristischer Röntgenstrahlung an. Durch die Analyse des Röntgenspektrums können die Elemente in der Probe bestimmt werden. Drei Detektor-Systeme gelten als Standard für SEM-Geräte:

  • Rückgestreute Elektronen (BE) → Material-Kontrast
  • Sekundäre Elektronen (SE) → Topographie-Kontrast
  • Energiedispersive Röntgenspektroskopie (EDX) → Elementanalytik

Folgende Grafik zeigt die Erzeugung des Primär-Elektronenstrahls, dessen Interaktion mit der Probe und die Anordnung der Detektorsysteme:

SEM-EDX-principle
Rückstreu- und Sekundärelektronen (BE/SE)

Für die Bildgebung haben sich Rückstreu- und Sekundärelektronen-Detektoren durchgesetzt. Die Rückstreuelektronen (BE) zeigen den Element- bzw. Materialkontrast der Probe. Je schwerer ein Element ist, desto heller erscheint der Bereich im BE-Bild. Die Sekundärelektronen (SE) stammen aus der Oberfläche und bilden die Topographie der Probe ab.

Beachten Sie, dass das SEM-Gerät Ihrer Wahl sowohl BE- als auch SE-Detektorsysteme integrieren kann. Der Informationsgehalt ist komplementär und bei der praktischen Arbeit ist die Betrachtung beider Modalitäten unerlässlich.

Röntgen-Elementanalyse (EDX)

Die Elementanalytik mittels Röntgenspektroskopie (EDX) ist bei allen SEM-Geräten optional verfügbar. Einige Hersteller offerieren ihre eigene Hardware und Software, andere Hersteller integrieren EDX-Systeme von spezialisierten Drittanbietern. Deren Software ist viel weiter entwickelt, bietet einen maximalen Funktionsumfang inklusive quantitative Analyse und ist retrospektiv erweiterbar. Bei Bedarf können zusätzliche Software-Module (z.B. für automatische Partikelanalyse) freigeschaltet werden.

Hier ist zu überprüfen, ob die vereinfachten Funktionen von SEM-Herstellern, die ihre eigenen EDX-Lösungen anbieten, nicht Ihre zukünftigen Möglichkeiten der Erweiterung beeinträchtigen.

Transmissionselektronen (STEM)

Seit kurzem ist die Raster-Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie (STEM) nicht mehr nur den großen Forschungsgeräten vorbehalten. Einige Tabletop-SEM und Kompaktgeräte bieten mit STEM-Detektoren die Möglichkeit, Dünnschnitte auf standardisierten TEM-Gittern abzubilden. Insbesondere für organische Präparate und Gewebeschnitte ist diese neuartige Option interessant, da eine Energie von 30 kV bereits ausreicht, um solche Dünnschnitte zu durchstrahlen.

Created with GIMP

STEM-Bild eines Nierengewebe-Dünnschnitts

de_DEDE
en_USEN de_DEDE